Artwork Is Work

Image

 

Part of being an artist is applying yourself: literally, figuratively, everyday. I have a growing list of grants, residencies and exhibitions. It’s overwhelming. Especially with the knowledge that I won’t be accepted to every opportunity I apply for. But as the old adage goes, “nothing ventured, nothing gained.” 

I received my first grant in November of 2012. It was an emergency grant from the Charles Mayer Foundation and showed up right when I needed it most: the first of the month. This was acknowledgment I needed, validation that someone recognized my hard work and aspirations. I now fill out each application knowing that there will be some no’s but someone will always say “yes.”

Leave a Reply

