Current Artist Statement

Writing an artist statement is something I struggled with in school. An artist’s statement is something that appears to be ever changing, just as the work itself changes and grows. I am happy with my current statement for now:

“I have gravitated toward site-specific sculptural installations as they reawaken for a moment the simple intrigue of “looking.” Absence captivated by strings bind the landscape within spatial drawings, creating a visual dialogue about movement, time and dimension. These linear symbologies open hearts and minds to new possibilities through the emphasis of obscured elements within recognizable objects. My attention becomes absorbed by the site as I work to accentuate its details. These elements are reflected in my paintings, particularly the poetry of a specific location and the body’s relation to it.”

Leave a Reply

